Work related injuries can take various forms, ranging from a simple slip and fall to exposure to hazardous materials. According to the law, all injuries that occur on the job while carrying out employer assigned responsibilities are regarded as work-related injuries.
Almost all injuries that occur in the workplace in Georgia are the jurisdiction of the Georgia Workers’ Compensation System.
The vast majority of work-related injuries that involve an employee and employer are subject to a Workers’ Compensation claim. In Georgia, Workers’ Compensation is a no-fault system. This means the injured person job is protected without having to prove fault on the part of their employer. However, this also means an employee can’t sue their employer for workplace injuries.
Eligibility for compensation is determined by only one factor: you have to be a worker in the firm where the injury occurred. It has nothing to do with citizenship or age. This protection also covers prisoners.
Additionally, longshoremen and harbor workers, may either file in the Federal or Georgia Workers Compensation Insurance systems.
You have up to 30 days from the date of the accident to inform your employer if he/she did not witness it. After that, you have up to 12 months to process a WC-14 claim with the Georgia Workers’ Compensation System.
If you miss the deadline, you must provide a written notice stating the reason, and part or all of you claim may be forfeited. Further, it’s unlikely that the administration of your firm will authorize compensation payments if the claim filed late.
In the event that compensation payments are delayed or do not come at all, you may ask the Georgia Workers’ Compensation Board for a hearing. At this hearing, you, your employer and his/her insurance representative are to be in attendance. In the event you are unhappy with the board’s decision, you may file appeal in Georgia’s State Court System.
If your workplace injury was caused by a third party(i.e. not the employer or employee), you may assert a claim against that individual or company outside of the Workers’ Compensation system
In addition, if you employer engages in deliberate acts that put you in harm’s way, the Workers Compensation system will not protect the employer. In such a scenario, the employer is responsible and can be subject to legal action.
A hit and run accident can be devastating for both victims and their family. Victims may have to deal with medical bills, lost wages and damaged property, just to name a few.
While most hit-and-run accidents involve pedestrians and bicycles, they are also common in motorcycle, truck, and car accidents. Fleeing the scene of an accident is illegal in Georgia and can lead to severe financial and legal complications.
For the victim, seeking compensation for hit-and-run accidents can be an extremely complex process, and it’s extremely risky to depend on people to make you whole. Because of this, it’s critical to have underinsured/uninsured motorist coverage for these types of accidents.
When a hit and run takes place, private investigators and/or police will first try to find the runaway driver. However, if they cannot find the driver, you may have to seek compensation from your uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance coverage.
If you have no insurance policy, you still have options. You could make a claim through the policy of a family member living with you. Or, if you were in the vehicle that was hit, you could make a claim on the coverage of the driver.
It can be hard to navigate the procedures and processes required to claim compensation for hit-and-run injuries. The Atlanta personal injury lawyers at Haug Barron Law Group are experts in recovering compensation for victims of hit and run accidents. Our attorneys will take an in-depth look at your case, evaluate possible outcomes, and fight for your rights in court.
Our personal injury attorneys are always available for an initial consultation on your hit and run case free of charge. For more information or to schedule an appointment with one of our experienced personal injury lawyers, contact us or give us a call at 844-428-4529.